Genealogy: Home

Whether you're just starting to create your family tree, or you're a dedicated family researcher, this guide will point you to helpful resources so you can learn more about who you are and where you came from.
Local Genealogical Societies
San Francisco City Directories (Online - Free)
Great Registers

Great Registers list registered voters and may include information such as birth dates, naturalization dates, address, and occupations.

Index to the Great Register, Contra Costa County, 1902 -  (Provided  by the Contra Costa County Library Heritage  Collection Volunteers)

Great Registers of Contra Costa County, 1867-1890   (microfilm)    
Call Number: Vault R 929.37946 Contra Costa (For microfilm, check with the Pleasant Hill Library Information Desk.)

California Great Registers: The Heritage Collection includes the "California 1890 Great Register of Voters Index" a 3-volume set compiled by the California State Genealogical Alliance. The register provides names, birthplace, age, residence, county, registration date, and naturalization information for those registered to vote in 1890. Look for it in the California section of the Heritage Collection.   (J. Carylye Parker has written an article on California's Great Registers that gives a general description of the Great Registers of California.)

Heritage Collection - Pleasant Hill Library

The Heritage Collection is made up of genealogical resources donated to the Pleasant Hill Library’s Genealogy Section. The collection comprises over 3000 items with emphasis on American genealogy. All materials are cataloged. 

Materials include:

  • General genealogical reference (e.g. “how to” source books, atlases, gazetteers)
  • State genealgocial reference (e.g. vital records directories, census)
  • Family histories
  • War and pension lists for participants of wars
  • Immigration and migration (e.g. passenger lists, etc.)
  • Patriotic and heritage organizations (e.g. Mayflower descendants)
  • Church records, cemeteries, mortuaries
  • Records of wills and abstracts of records of wills, marriages, etc.
  • Ethnic and cultural genealogy (e.g. England, Scotland, Ireland, Europe, Germany, Native American, African American, Canada, Huguenot, Heraldry)
  • California 1890 Great Register of Voters Index- 3 volume set compiled by the California State Genealogical Alliance. Names, birthplace, age, residence, county, registration date, and naturalization information for those registered to vote in 1890.
  • Periodicals

Click here to view more than 200 titles from the collection

Contra Costa County
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS) Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide access to microfilms and microfiche to help patrons identify their ancestors.

Antioch
2350 Jeffery Way
Brentwood, CA
925-634-9004
Concord
3700 Concord Blvd
Concord, CA
925-686-1766
Danville
2949 Stone Valley Rd
Alamo, CA
925-552-5920
Oakland Regional Family History Center
4766 Lincoln AvenueOakland, CA 94602
(510) 531-3905


Family Search - non-profit service sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints..

    High School Yearbooks

    A listing of yearbooks, available in Contra Costa County community libraries.

    About Research Assistance

    Due to budget, resource and staffing reductions, Library staff is no longer able to perform extensive genealogy research on behalf of patrons and non-Contra Costa County residents.

    To help you with your research, please refer to the local and online resources listed here or call the Pleasant Hill Library to arrange for assistance from Contra Costa County Genealogical Society volunteers at the times listed below.

    Heritage Collection - Research Assistance

    Volunteers from the Contra Costa County Genealogical Society are available to help interested persons use the Heritage Collection (Pleasant Hill Library). Regularly scheduled hours are:

    Tuesday: 1:00 PM -3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 11:00 AM -1:00 PM

    Thursday: 11:00 AM -1:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM -12:00 PM

    Tuesday: 4:00 PM -6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 1:00 PM -3:00 PM

    Thursday: 11:00 AM -1:00 PM

    Friday: 1:00 PM -3:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 PM -8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 11:00 AM -1:00 PM

    Thursday: 11:00 AM -1:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM -12:00 PM

    Saturday: 11:00 AM -1:00 PM

    Tuesday: 1:00 PM -3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 1:00 PM -3:00 PM

    Thursday: 11:00 AM -1:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM -12:00 PM

    Saturday: 11:00 AM -1:00 PM

                      

    No appointment is necessary, but please call ahead to check with the Information Desk (925-646-6434) to verify that a docent is available. The Library is closed Sundays and Mondays.

    Bay Area Libraries with Inter-Library Loan Service

    The Contra Costa County Library no longer offers Inter-Library Loan Service.

    Patrons may request items they wish to borrow directly from libraries that participate in the Link+  program. 

    The following area libraries offer Inter-Library Loan Service:

    Livermore Public Library
    Oakland Public Library
    Richmond Public Library
    San Francisco Public Library

    Vital Records
    Organizations