Skip to main content

Genealogy & History: Obituary Requests

Whether you're just starting to create your family tree, or you're a dedicated family researcher, this guide will point you to helpful resources so you can learn more about who you are and where you came from.

Obituary Requests - Locating an Obituary for Someone Who Died in Contra Costa County

Contra Costa residents may search the Contra Costa Times database with a Library card or e-card for obituaries published since June 1995.

Obituaries that have appeared in Contra Costa County newspapers prior to 1995 are available on microfilm at the Pleasant Hill Library.  See this link for specific historical newspaper holdings by communtiy.

Anyone may search the Contra Costa Times' Obituaries page on their site. (Death notices and Guest books remain online one year.)

Local genealogical societies may have volunteers willing to help you locate Contra Costa obituaries.

Please note that due to budget and staffing reductions, Library staff is no longer able to perform obituary searches on behalf of patrons, nor respond to obituary requests from non-Contra Costa County residents.

Index to Contra Costa Newspapers

Printed indexes to death notices that have appeared in Contra Costa County newspapers are available for Reference at the Pleasant Hill Library.

The eight indexes cover: 1860-1899, 1900-1919, 1920-1929, 1930-1934, l935-1937, 1938-1940, 1941-1944, 1945-1946.

Obituaries in Newspapers

Newspaper

Alameda Times-Star

Dates

09/15/2001-Current

City

Alameda

the Berkeley Voice

11/02/2001-Current

Berkeley

Brentwood News

05/02/1997-Current

Brentwood

Concord Transcript

01/04/1996-Current

Concord

Contra Costa Times

06/01/1995-Current

Walnut Creek

El Cerrito Journal

11/02/2001-Current

El Cerrito

Lamorinda Sun

01/10/1996-Current

Lafayette

Ledger Dispatch

03/23/1997-10/21/2005

Antioch

Montclarion

11/02/2001-Current

Montclair

Piedmonter

11/02/2001-Current

Piedmont

The Record 3 titles

04/03/2002-Current

Martinez, Pleasant Hill

San Ramon Valley Times

06/02/1995-Current

San Ramon

Solano Times

06/06/1996-03/01/2001

Vallejo

Valley Times

06/01/1995-Current

Pleasanton

Walnut Creek Journal

01/04/1996-Current

Walnut Creek

West County Times

06/11/1995-Current

Richmond

West County Weekly

10/19/2001-04/09/2004

Richmond

California Digital Newspaper Collection  Search or browse historical California newspapers for dates ranging from 1846 to 1922.
Amador Ledger, California Star, California Star & Californian, Daily Alta California, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald, Pacific Rural Press, Placer Times, Sacramento Daily Union, Sacramento Transcript, San Francisco Call, Sausilito News.

Newspapers from around the United States in addition to the Contra Costa Times newspaper and its affliates  can now be searched in the NewsBank database

Death Dates & Notices

California Death Index

The  California Death Index  from the State of California, Dept. of Health is available at the Pleasant Hill Library on microfilm.

California death index, 1905-1929
California death index, 1930-1939
California death index, 1905-1939

It includes:

Fetal deaths, 1905-1929
Fetal deaths, 1930-1939


Knowing a death date will help in searching U.S. Census records.

Contra Costa Co. GENWEB

Historical Newspaper Collection

Contra Costa County Historical Society

The Contra Costa County Historical Society History Center provides a historical collection of local obituaries.

Their Obituary Index (scroll to bottom of page) can be searched by name. For obituaries after 1984, contact the Center directly (email).

The Center also provides indexed vital records - marriage, birth, and death from the Contra Costa County Gazette and the Antioch Ledger.

 

Contra Costa County Genealogical Societies

Local genealogical societies may have volunteers willing to help you locate Contra Costa obituaries

New York Times