Skip to main content

Kids' Book Lists: Award Winners

Caldecott (newest first)

Newbery (newest first)

Coretta Scott King Book Awards (newest first)

The following books are past Coretta Scott King Award Winners that are not in the Contra Costa County Library system.  Some may be found through Link+:

1990 Illustrator Award Winner

  • Jan Spivey Gilchrist, illustrator of Nathaniel Talking, written by Eloise Greenfield (Black Butterfly)

1985 Author Award Winner

  • Walter Dean Myers, author of Motown and Didi (Viking)

1984 Illustrator Award Winner

  • Pat Cummings, illustrator of My Mama Needs Me, written by Mildred Pitts Walter (Lothrop)

1983 Illustrator Award Winner

  • Peter Magubane, photographer and author of Black Child (Knopf)

1982 Illustrator Award Winner

  • John Steptoe, illustrator of Mother Crocodile: An Uncle Amadou Tale from Sengal, written by Rosa Guy (Delacorte)

1979 Illustrator Award Winner

  • Tom Feelings, illustrator of Something on My Mind, written by Nikki Grimes (Dial)

1977 Author Award Winner

  •  James Haskins, author of The Story of Stevie Wonder (Lothrop)

1976 Author Award Winner

  • Pearl Bailey, author of Duey’s Tale (Harcourt)

1975 Author Award Winner

  • Dorothy Robinson, author of The Legend of Africana (Johnson Publishing)

1974 Author Award Winner

  • Sharon Bell Mathis, author of Ray Charles, illustrated by George Ford (Crowell)

1971 Author Award Winner

  • Charlemae Rollins, author of Black Troubador: Langston Hughes (Rand McNally)

1970 Author Award Winner 

  • Lillie Patterson, author of Martin Luther King, Jr.: Man of Peace (Garrard)

Pura Belpre Award (newest first)